Principal Cities of Bangladesh

Among the major cities of Bangladesh are Dhaka, the capital, with 3,368,940 inhabitants (1991); Chattogram, the leading port, with 1,566,070 inhabitants; Khulna, a rapidly growing center for small-scale industry, with 601,051 inhabitants; Narayanganj, the inland port for Dhaka, with 268,952 inhabitants; and Rajshahi, located in a silk-producing area, with 324,532 inhabitants.

Copyright ©