Bangladesh : The Parliament

The Parliament or Jatiya Sangsad has 350 seats, 50 of the seats are reserved for the respective women of the country. Three hundred members are directly elected while 30 seats are reserved for women who are elected by the MPs. The tenure of the Parliament is five years.

The Parliament is a sovereign body with a separate secretariat. The Speaker, along with the Deputy Speaker, Whips and panel of Chairmen run the sessions of Parliament.

In the present 11th parliament, Bangladesh Awami League commands absolute majority. Bangladesh Nationalist Party and the Jatiya Party are the other two major political parties with significant representations in the Parliament. There are Parliamentary Standing Committees for different ministries, which serve as parliamentary watchdogs over the activities of the Government.

Copyright ©