Meet Bangladesh - Information on Parliament of Bangladesh


Parliament of Bangladesh
Meet Bangladesh - Art & CultureMeet Bangladesh - EconomyMeet Bangladesh - GeographyMeet Bangladesh - Travel BanglaMeet Bangladesh - People & PopulationMeet Bangladesh - Land & Resources
Meet Bangladesh - Information on Parliament of Bangladesh      

             Capital   History   Quick Look  Photo Gallery  National Anthem  Transport & Communication  Map

Bangladesh : Government
quick look
Bangladesh : constitution
foreign relations
govt.'s official site
health & sports
housing & public works
science & technology
Bangladesh : social welfare & human development
Bangladesh : administration
Bangladesh : judiciary
Bangladesh : parliament
Bangladesh : state
Meet bangladesh - Total information on Bangladesh



Bangladesh : The Parliament

The Parliament or Jatiya Sangsad has 330 seats. Three hundred members are directly elected while 30 seats are reserved for women who are elected by the, MPs. The tenure of the Parliament is five years. 

The Parliament is a sovereign body with a separate secretariat. The Speaker, along with the Deputy Speaker, Whips and panel of Chairmen run the sessions of Parliament. 

In the present seventh parliament, Bangladesh Awami League commands absolute majority. Bangladesh Nationalist Party and the Jatiya Party are the other two major political parties with significant representations in the Parliament. There are Parliamentary Standing Committees for different ministries, which serve as parliamentary watchdogs over the activities of the Government. 

about contact advertise with Web Services : Domain Registration - Website Hosting - Web Design - E-Commerce - Online Biz Promotion
- - -